Planning Life- One Week at a Time

Cheese Please!

Grilled Cheese for dinner, yes please!

But a grown up version made in the panini press. I bought a nice loaf of Italian bread in the bakery department. Some ham at the deli counter. A few plum tomatoes, apples, and soup fixings. Plenty of cheese at home.

When I got home from work I chopped up the veggies for a quick soup. Onion, carrot, and green pepper in the pot to sweat with in some olive oil. Peeled a russet potato, washed and chopped a broccoli crown. Once the onion was soft I threw the rest of the veggies. A sprinkle of salt and stirred. Add about 3 cups of chicken broth. I brought the soup to a boil and simmered about 30 minutes. Added some favorite herbs, pepper, more salt to taste, a splash of milk. I puree the soup right the pot with a stick blender leaving it a bit chunky. Stirred in a handful of shredded cheese.

For the paninis I heated up the press. In the meantime I sliced tomatoes and apples. I sliced the bread in wide pieces. Lastly I prepped two kinds of sandwiches. Tomato, mozzarella, and basil. And ham, apple, and cheddar. Brushed the press with a little butter and put the sandwiches in. Carefully removed them to a cutting board and sliced them into wedges. Served with a balsamic dressing on the side and a bowl of the soup.

Leave a Reply

