Planning Life- One Week at a Time

Prep

This week I thought I would would list each night’s meal and a brief description of how it was made along with some short cuts and tips. Instead of writing out a whole recipe step by step.

Monday- Pesto Stuffed Shells, recipe from last year, I made a huge tray for a friend who had a baby. I made a second smaller one for my family. We had it with frozen garlic bread.

Tuesday- DH and I went out with friends. Kids ate leftovers.

Wednesday- Chicken, Ham, & Cheese Roll ups, Mac and Cheese, Broccoli. I bought cutlets in a big family pack. I then trimmed them and removed the tender from each one. Those will be dinner Thursday. I cut 3 cutlet in half and pounded them flat coated one side in bread crumbs. I placed a slice of honey ham on the other side and filled with mozzarella cheese. Rolled them up. I covered the bottom of a glass backing dish with cream of chicken soup and placed the rolls in it. Then baked at 350 cover about 40 minutes and uncovered for 10. While they baked I steamed fresh broccoli in the microwave and made a package home style mac & cheese. Enough leftovers for two lunches.

Thursday- Chicken Stir Fry, chicken was cut up the night before. Vegetable prep takes a lot of time but it is worth it for a health stir fry. I will chop double the peppers and onions for Fridays dinner. They will go in a zip top bag. And all good stir fries start with GGG, garlic, ginger, green onion. I’ll start those in some oil in a large frying pan. Then throw in onion, peppers, broccoli, snow peas, water chestnuts, and carrot. I’ll coat the chicken pieces in corn starch. Move the veggies to the sides and stir fry the chicken. Last I’ll throw in sauces like soy, teriyaki, orange ginger. A bit if water. And thicken with corn starch slurry. Serve with rice.

Friday- Cheese Steaks, I sauté veggies and mushrooms prepped the night before. Steak meat is frozen in thin pieces. I cook it up on a flat griddle with season salt then I place slices of cheese on at the end. I load up the veggies and meat on hero rolls and serve with a side salad.

Saturday- too busy to cook take out it is.

Leave a Reply

